Democratic Control

Democratic Control

Democratic Control over the Security Sector

Уроки реформирования служб военной разведки в Венгрии

Худик, Андраш. "Уроки реформирования служб военной разведки в Венгрии." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 20, no. 1 (2021): 35-52.

Вступление

Службы национальной безопасности

В целом мы различаем два вида служб национальной безопасности. Один из них – служба внутренней разведки (или контрразведки), которая собирает и обрабатывает информацию о внутренней безопасности страны. Ее задача – защита государства, территории и общества от внешнего вмешательства (диверсий, шпионажа, политического насилия). Информация, собранная этой службой, помогает сберечь и гарантировать внутреннюю безопасность государства и общества.

20.1.02_hungary_rus.pdf — Downloaded 19 times

Трансформация служб безопасности и разведки в Латвии

Кудорс, Андис. "Трансформация служб безопасности и разведки в Латвии." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 18, no. 3 (2019): 117-139.

Введение

Латвия де-факто утратила государственность в годы советской оккупации. Еe структуры безопасности в советский период были созданы внешними враждебными силами. Следовательно, мы не можем говорить о «трансформации» латвийских служб безопасности в 1990 и 1991 годах, а скорее о «сносе» и «восстановлении заново».

Трансформация системы государственной безопасности в Словацкой Республике с 1989 по 1992 год

Стиранка, Йозеф, and Мартина Биндерова. "Трансформация системы государственной безопасности в Словацкой Республике с 1989 по 1992 год." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 18, no. 3 (2019): 97-115.

Введение

В этой статье описывается процесс трансформации системы государственной безопасности (далее – ГБ) [1] в Словацкой Республике, который начался после «бархатной революции» в ноябре 1989 года. После «бархатной революции» начался процесс демократизации во всех сферах общественной жизни, включая политическую, экономическую и социальную, а также изменения в службах безопасности.

Трансформация служб безопасности и разведки в Чешской Республике

Михалек, Людек, and Ладислав Покорни. "Трансформация служб безопасности и разведки в Чешской Республике." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 18, no. 3 (2019): 73-96.

Введение

В 1989 году Чехословакия была неотъемлемой частью советского блока, членом Варшавского договора, и хотя в Советском Союзе произошли значительные изменения, ослабившие его власть над своими сателлитами, тогдашние высшие чехословацкие руководители по-прежнему сохраняли свои традиционные, очень жесткие позиции.

Строительство оборонных институтов на Украине в мирное время и во время войны

Поляков, Леонид. "Строительство оборонных институтов на Украине в мирное время и во время войны." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 17, no. 3 (2017): 108-126.

Введение

В 1991, независимая Украина унаследовала от Советского Союза значительный обычный военный контингент, эквивалентный второй по величине вооруженной силе Европы, и располагала на своей территории третьим самым крупным ядерным арсеналом в мире.[1] Процесс конверсии этой несколько хаотической, но огромной постсоветской силы и строительства хорошо структурированных национальных вооруженных сил Украины прошел через два основных этапа – упадок в период мирного времени (1991-2013) и военно-временная т

17.3.07_polyakov_dib_ukraine_rus.pdf — Downloaded 96 times

Строительство оборонных институтов с высоты птичьего полета? Уроки балтийского опыта

Чиншилла, Александра К., and Пол Поаст. "Строительство оборонных институтов с высоты птичьего полета? Уроки балтийского опыта." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 17, no. 3 (2018): 72-84.

Введение

Нет ничего лучше, чем «грязь НАТО» под «ногтями». Так сказал Верховный командующий союзными силами НАТО в Европе, генерал Джон Шаликашвили, в связи с предназначением инициативы Партнерство ради мира (ПрМ).[1] После окончания Холодной войны, государства Восточной Европы обратились за помощью к Западу. Ответом была инициатива НАТО Партнерство ради мира (ПрМ). Задача состояла в привлечении бывших членов Варшавского договора к более близкому сотрудничеству с НАТО.

Строительство оборонных институтов в контексте США

Керр, Александра. "Строительство оборонных институтов в контексте США." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 17, no. 3 (2018): 27-45.

Соединенные Штаты уже десятки лет участвуют в бизнесе по оказанию помощи вооруженным силам партнерским государствам. Начальная правовая рамка для оказания помощи в сфере безопасности была разработана в 1960-х, однако, оказалось, что она не соответствует требованиям среды безопасности 21-го века.

17.3.02_kerr_dib_us_context_rus.pdf — Downloaded 54 times

Программа НАТО Строительства Оборонных Институтов и проецирование стабильности: текущие приоритеты и деятельности

Бин, Альберто. "Программа НАТО Строительства Оборонных Институтов и проецирование стабильности: текущие приоритеты и деятельности." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 17, no. 3 (2018): 9-26.

Введение

«Если наши соседи более стабильны, мы в большей безопасности.» Это заявление,[1] сделанное главами государств и правительств НАТО на их саммите в 2016 году в Варшаве, затрагивает сущность работы НАТО по Проецированию стабильности. Однако усилия, направленные на «проецирование стабильности» нелегко контекстуализировать и концептуализировать – ‘стабильность’ может иметь разный смысл в зависимости от обстоятельств.

Постоянная потребность в строительстве оборонных институтов

Флури, Филипп, and Джудит Рид. "Постоянная потребность в строительстве оборонных институтов." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 17, no. 3 (2018): 5-8.

Прозрачное и подотчетное, эффективное и результативное Строительство Оборонных Институтов (СОИ) одна из общих ценностей, которые связывают в единое целое не только НАТО, но и программы партнерства НАТО. Таким образом, СОИ является также важным элементом менеджмента и реформирования обороны.

17.3.00_editorial_rus.pdf — Downloaded 97 times

Правовая и законная борьба против COVID-19: германское прецедентное право, связанное с комендантским часом

Страницы

Democratic Control

Democratic Control

Democratic Control over the Security Sector

The Legal and Legitimate Combat Against COVID-19: German Curfew-related Case Law

von Münchow, Sebastian. "The Legal and Legitimate Combat Against COVID-19: German Curfew-related Case Law." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 19, no. 2 (2020): 49-60.

Introduction

In the wake of COVID-19, much has been written about Chinese and Russian attempts to use the crisis to reshape international order in favor of authoritarian regimes. Diplomatic initiatives, staged relief operations, and troll propaganda was rolled out when the coronavirus hit Europe and the USA in early March 2020. The intention was, and still is, to target western societies in distress. These activities insinuate that centralized, illiberal governance models are better prepared to manage the crisis.

Transformation of Security and Intelligence Services in Latvia

Kudors, Andis. "Transformation of Security and Intelligence Services in Latvia." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 18, no. 3 (2019): 105-124.

Introduction

Latvia had lost its statehood de facto in the years of the Soviet occupation. Its security structures during the Soviet period were established by an external, hostile force. Therefore, we cannot talk about the ‘transformation’ of Latvian security services in 1990 and 1991, but rather about ‘demolition’ and ‘rebuilding anew.’

18.3.06_kudors_intelligence_latvia.pdf — Downloaded 243 times

Transformation of the State Security in the Slovak Republic from 1989 to 1992

Stieranka, Jozef, and Martina Binderová. "Transformation of the State Security in the Slovak Republic from 1989 to 1992." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 18, no. 3 (2019): 87-103.

Introduction

The following article describes the transformation process of the State Security (hereinafter StB) [1] in the Slovak Republic, which began after the “Velvet Revolution” in November 1989. Following the “Velvet Revolution,” a democratization process was initiated in all areas of social life, including political, economic, social, as well as changes in the security services.

Transformation of the Security and Intelligence Services in the Czech Republic

Michálek, Luděk, and Ladislav Pokorný. "Transformation of the Security and Intelligence Services in the Czech Republic." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 18, no. 3 (2019): 65-86.

Introduction

In 1989, Czechoslovakia was an integral part of the Soviet bloc, a member of the Warsaw Pact and, although there were significant changes in the Soviet Union weakening its power over its satellites, the then top Czechoslovak officials still kept their traditional, very rigid positions.

Defence Institution Building in Ukraine at Peace and at War

Polyakov, Leonid. "Defence Institution Building in Ukraine at Peace and at War." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 17, no. 3 (2018): 92-108.

Introduction

In 1991, independent Ukraine inherited from the Soviet Union sizeable conventional military contingent equivalent to Europe’s second largest armed forces and had on its territory the third world largest nuclear arsenal.[1] The process of conversion of this rather chaotic massive post-Soviet force and building the coherent national military of Ukraine went through two major stages – peace-time decline (1991-2013) and war-time transformation since the start of Russian invasion to Crimea in 2014.

17.3.07_polyakov_dib_ukraine.pdf — Downloaded 834 times

Defense Institution Building from Above? Lessons from the Baltic Experience

Chinchilla, Alexandra C., and Paul Poast. "Defense Institution Building from Above? Lessons from the Baltic Experience." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 17, no. 3 (2018): 61-71.

Introduction

There is nothing better than ‘NATO dirt’ under the ‘fingernails.’ So said then NATO Supreme allied commander in Europe, General John Shalikashvili, in reference to the goal of the Partnership for Peace (PfP).[1] In the aftermath of the Cold War, the states of Eastern Europe looked for aid from the West. The Partnership for Peace (PfP) was NATO’s response. The goal was to bring members of the former Warsaw Pact into closer cooperation with NATO.

Defense Institution Building in the U.S. Context

Kerr, Alexandra. "Defense Institution Building in the U.S. Context." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 17, no. 3 (2018): 23-38.

The United States has been in the business of assisting partner nations’ militaries for decades. The original security assistance framework that was first developed in the 1960s, however, has proven insufficient to keep up with the demands of the 21st century security environment. As such, the broader U.S.

17.3.02_kerr_dib_us_context.pdf — Downloaded 547 times

NATO’s Defense Institution Building and Projecting Stability: Current Priorities and Activities

Bin, Alberto. "NATO’s Defense Institution Building and Projecting Stability: Current Priorities and Activities." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 17, no. 3 (2018): 8-22.

Introduction

If our neighbours are more stable, we are more secure.” This statement,[1] made by the NATO Heads of State and Government at their 2016 Summit in Warsaw, touches upon the core of NATO’s work on Projecting Stability. However, efforts aimed at “projecting stability” are not easy to contextualize and conceptualize – ‘stability’ may carry different connotations depending on the circumstances.

The Persistent Demand for Defense Institution Building

Fluri, Philipp, and Judith Reid. "The Persistent Demand for Defense Institution Building." Connections: The Quarterly Journal 17, no. 3 (2018): 5-7.

Transparent and accountable, efficient and effective Defense Institution Building (DIB) is one of the shared values that binds together not only NATO but also NATO’s Partnership Programming. In this way, DIB is also an essential part of defense management and reform.

17.3.00_editorial.pdf — Downloaded 756 times

Policy and Legal Frameworks of Using Armed Forces for Domestic Disaster Response and Relief

Pages